STANDARDS COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY, 16 JUNE 2010

DECISIONS

Set out below is a summary of the decisions taken at the meeting of the Standards Committee held on Wednesday, 16 June 2010. The wording used does not necessarily reflect the actual wording that will appear in the minutes.

If you have any queries about any matters referred to in this decision sheet please contact Holly Adams.

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF STANDARDS COMMITTEE 2010/11

It was **RESOLVED** that Kathy English be re-elected Chairman of the Standards Committee for 2010/11.

2. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF STANDARDS COMMITTEE 2010/11 It was RESOLVED that Alan Hampton be re-appointed Vice-Chairman of the Standards Committee for 2010/11.

3. 2010/11 APPOINTMENTS TO STANDARDS COMMITTEE PANELS ESTABLISHED UNDER THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE (ENGLAND) REGULATIONS 2008

The Standards Committee **AGREED** that the following fixed panels be appointed for 2010/11:

Standards Committee Local Assessment Panel

Bob Bryant Parish Council Member
Michael Farrar Parish Council Member
Alan Hampton Independent Member
Janet Lockwood District Council Member
Eric Revell Independent Member
Jim Stewart District Council Member

Standards Committee Hearings Panel

Bob Bryant Parish Council Member Georgina Butcher Independent Member Kathy English Independent Member Michael Farrar Parish Council Member Alan Hampton Independent Member John House Independent Member **District Council Member** Cicely Murfitt Tony Orgee **District Council Member** Alex Riley District Council Member **Chris Tomsett** Parish Council Member

Standards Committee Review Panel

Nigel Cathcart
Roger Hall
District Council Member
Dave Kelleway
Parish Council Member
Mary Pilfold-Allan
Independent Member
Chris Tomsett
Parish Council Member
Parish Council Member
Independent Member

The Standards Committee FURTHER AGREED that all members of the Committee

would be eligible to serve on any of the panels as required, for example, if any of the appointed members were unable to participate due to a conflict of interest.

4. STANDARDS COMMITTEE WORK PROGRAMME: REVIEW OF 2009/10 AND KPIS FOR 2010/11, INCLUDING 2010 ANNUAL RETURN TO STANDARDS FOR ENGLAND

The Standards Committee **NOTED** the completed 2009/10 Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) and **AGREED** the list of new and on-going KPIs for 2010/11.

5. AMENDMENTS TO THE CONSTITUTION - ARTICLE 9 - THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

The Standards Committee **RECOMMENDED TO COUNCIL** adoption of the amendments made to Article 9 of the Constitution (The Standards Committee).

6. 2010 ANNUAL ASSEMBLY OF STANDARDS COMMITTEES: A PLACE FOR STANDARDS - BIRMINGHAM, 18-19 OCTOBER 2010

The Standards Committee **NOTED** the cancellation of the 2010 Annual Assembly of Standards Committees and the forthcoming refund of the booking fees.

7. PARISH COUNCIL TRAINING: RECOMMENDATION FROM THE PARISH LIAISON WORKING GROUP

The Standards Committee **NOTED** the responses received to the Parish Council Questionnaire and **AGREED** that the Parish Liaison Working Group use the findings to develop the 2010/11 Parish Council training programme.

8. GAMLINGAY PARISH COUNCIL: FURTHER REQUEST FOR DISPENSATION The Standards Committee AGREED to grant a four-year dispensation to Councillor Nick Howard of Gamlingay Parish Council from matters concerning Gamlingay Community Centre, with the reminder that he must still declare an interest in such issues and that he has been granted a dispensation from that interest.

8 (a) ELTISLEY Parish Council: Request for Dispensations

The Standards Committee **AGREED** to grant four-year dispensations to Councillors Sheila Childerley, Mike Cropley, Martin Lines, Roger Pinner, John Pettifor and Angela Weldon of Eltisley Parish Council from matters concerning Eltisley Village Green Trust and the Allotments for the Labouring Poor, with the reminder that they must still declare an interest in such issues and that they have been granted dispensations from that interest.

9. MEETINGS OF STANDARDS COMMITTEE PANELS

Following the Standards Committee meeting, the Standards Committee panels met to elect their Chairmen for the 2010/11 Civic Year. Chairmen were elected as follows:

Body	Chairman
Standards Committee Hearing Panel	Georgina Butcher, Independent
	Member
Standards Committee Local	Eric Revell, Independent Member
Assessment Panel	
Standards Committee Review Panel	James Williams, Independent Member